7 replies to this topic

#1 jak AK

jak AK

Full Time Lurker

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 61 posts

Posted 13 April 2012 - 07:04 AM

Sony online entertainment are releasing Planetside 2 which is a MMO FPS and i'm not sure if my Dell 620 MT will be able to play it. I was wondering if i should build a new PC or upgrade my current one? If i should build a new one, is it easy to do and which sites or store provide parts for it?

Dell 620 MT spec:
Intel® Core™ i3-2120 Processor (3.30GHz, 3MB)
Genuine Windows® 7
4096MB Dual Channel DDR3 [2x2048] Memory
500GB (7200rpm) SATA Hard Drive
Graphics : Intel® HD

P.S I'm new to PC gaming when it comes to building it as i'm worried i might mess up. XD
Posted ImagePosted Image

#2 Fantikerz

Fantikerz

Administrator

• Group Image Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1125 posts

Posted 13 April 2012 - 10:48 AM

Definitely get a video card (this is a quality one if you're on a budget - I have this one and it maxes out BF3 in 1080p). Everything else looks good enough (the i3 is a quad core, right?).

In the future, I'd plan to upgrade to 8GB of RAM though. My guess is that you'll be able to run most games, but you'll have to shut down all background processes first. Check your motherboard if you have the extra slots and spend the $40 to get another 4gb. It's worth it.
Posted Image
Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image

#3 jak AK

jak AK

Full Time Lurker

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 61 posts

Posted 13 April 2012 - 12:10 PM

Thanks for the reply. :biggrin:
Just one question (sorry if this sounds like a dumb one), but if I were to upgrade the ram and video card, will it damage the rest of the components due the amount of power it's receiving?
Posted ImagePosted Image

#4 Feinraf

Feinraf

Administrator

• 2404 posts

Posted 13 April 2012 - 02:21 PM